This was connected with beekeeping, and the villagers paid taxes to the church in the amount of a few barrels of honey per year. In the 14th Century, the Order established a grange in the village to administer the large forests. The areas of the present-day village of Ryjewo were part of the grange. People bred horses and horned cattle. The Gothic-Revival church built in 1881 – 1886 was surrounded by a cemetery. The church had three aisles, a rib vault, in the presbytery supported with narrow columns passing into semi-columns with composite capitals. The main body is covered with a high pitched roof, and the presbytery with a five-surface roof. Also worth mentioning is a granite Gothic baptismal font with strip decoration before the church entrance.