The oldest-preserved church in the Ryjewo Commune. The St.Catherine The Virgin and Martyr and St. Joseph church, built around 1647 on the site of the Gothic church from the 13th Century. In 1819, a tower was built on a rectangular plan, covered with a tented roof. The western elevation is topped with a Prussian wall. In 1910, the roof and the tower were destroyed by fire. A single-aisle church, on a rectangular plane, with an oriented presbytery enclosed from three sides. Built on a hill, made of brick and field stone. The interior is plastered, with a wooden gallery in the western part of the aisle, supported by two pairs of poles;, from the east there are poles in the form of twisted columns and a wooden-beam ceiling. In the presbytery there is stained glass with Saints Catherine and Joseph. The entrance to the church is through a three-wing gate. Inside the church there is a Baroque baptismal font. The main altar is made in the Gothic Revival style. In the eastern wall there is a sculpture of the Virgin Mary. The paintings of the four Evangelists, hanging under the choir, were funded in 1863. The church has always been of the Roman – Catholic denomination. This is the parish of the Blessed Rev. Władysław Demski, beatified by John Paul II in June 1999.
Autor: LOT Liwa
Foto: P.Solińska, LOT Liwa