The pumping station was built in 1930 and from that time it has served 22 thousand ha of land, providing suitable working conditions to Żuławy’s farmers. Two pumps can pump up to 14 thousand litres of water a second. The installation was created to close off the mouth of the Linawa from the Szkarpawa. It is worth adding that due to the damage inflicted by German soldiers on the Chłodniewo and Osłonka pumping stations as they were retreating from this area in 1945, the land of Żuławy was flooded. The flood area covered the terrain as far as Tczew and Malbork, and the drainage process of the polders between the forks of the Vistula and the Nogat lasted until mid 1950’s.