The Romanesque cellar is a perfectly preserved refectory of the Dominican cloister with a fragment of a kitchen with a brick oven.
More than 700 years ago, in the second half of the 13th century, the first storey of the monastery buildings was buried by masons about 1 meter into the ground.
Most of the rooms most likely stoppped to be used after the town was burnt down by the Teutonic Knights in 1308. At the end of the 14thmcentury, they were adopted a cellars under the new, gothic monastery cloister.
The museum exhibition focuses on the architecture of the object. The original walls , which are 3/5 of the whole space, include significant parts of the vault system, which is unique on a Polish scale.
Appropriate lighting emphasizes the architectural qualities of the interior, draws attention to the four fields of elliptical vaults and a central pillar. A virtual guide speaks from the speakers and changes ii the color intesity of light indicate individual details and help you follow the commentary.
In addition, a ten-minute film with 3D animations depicting the history of Dominikan’s area is presented. The reconstruction of the first church, donated in 1227, to the Dominicans by Prince Świętopełk is shown, as well as next reconstruction made by the monks and other monastery buildings of the thirteenth-century Gdańsk.
The exhibition also includes more than 100 artefacts found during research, for example: ornaments, kitchen equipment, dishes, tools and a collection of devotional items, including medallions, rosaries, as well as a Kiev reliquary from the 12th century – tho most North situated item of such kind. Also noteworthy is the ossuary from the early 17th century, preserved in situ, intact since the bones were deposited.
It is also worth visiting other branches of the Archaeological Museum in Gdańsk:
The Blue Lamb (a branch of the Archaeological Museum in Gdansk
The Archaeological Heritage Park in Sopot
The Archaeological Museum in Gdańsk