Today's castle dates back to the 13th century. Its construction took 40 years, and the shape is a regular square with turrets in the corners. Situated in a strategic place,the river crossing.
Originally it was a Teutonic commander’s castle, then rebuilt into a permanent residence of the great master Michał Kuchmester.
During the Thirteen Years’ War, it was sieged by Polish troops. The defense of this castle contributed to the defeat of the Order in the battle of today’s Vistula Lagoon.
The victory of the Gdansk-Elbląg army near Suchacz tipped the scales of victory in favor of Poland.
After the Thirteen Years’ War, until the partitions, it was the seat of Polish mayer. From 1772, the castle was occupied by Prussian troops and began to perform military functions, the nit was a grain warehouse.
Reconstructions of the castle sestroyed its Gothic style. The 19th century is the period of demolition of the outer bailey walls and the transformation of the castle into a prison.
The Museum at the Castle in Gniew
After the war period, revitalization and reconstruction of the castle, it became a branch of the Archaeological Museum in Gdansk. The Museum at the Castle in Gniew has been presenting three permanent exhibitions since 1995:
The Museum at the Castle in Gniew has been presenting three permanent exhibitions since 1995:
- Everyday life in a medieval castle. The exhibition, based largely on archaeological finds made in Gniew, introduces us to the extraordinary atmosphere of the castle walls, showing the daily affairs of its inhabitants.
- Grunwald 1410, Against the backdrop of a monumental painting depicting a scene from the Battle of Grunwald by Stefan Garwatowski, the course of the battle is shown, enriched with iconographic elements, copies of armour, militaria and banners.
- Gallery of artistic blacksmithing, a contemporary blacksmith products. International shows of artistic forging, organized many times in the castle, finally resulted in the creation of a gallery showing the most interesting awarded works.