In the 15th Century it belonged to the von Schwave family, and then, until the mid-18th Century, remained in the hands of the von Rhamels.
According to historical accounts, in 1784 the village consisted of a water mill, two manors, a tavern, a smithy, and 38 dwellings. From 1786 until the end of World War II, the estate remained in the hands of the family of von Bandemer, renowned throughout all Pomerania. The last lords of the manor were Wilhelm and Rudiger von Bandemer. Among the grandest monuments in Wytowno is a 14th-Century church, currently operating as the Church of St. Francis of Assisi. The church has a half-timbered construction, with the tower and annexes in masonry, The church nave is rectangular and lacks a distinctive presbytery. The church tower dates back to the 14th Century, while the nave comes from the second half of the 17th Century. The southern wall of the tower is fitted with a clock. The annexes and alterations in the elevation date back to 1880. Worth mentioning is the original decor of the church – the altar dating back to the second half of the 17th Century featuring Gothic sculptures, pulpit compiled from Baroque and Gothic-Revival elements, epitaph of Marcin Westphal from 1680, 18th-Century gallery, and fine organ front originating in the 19th Century. Next to the church there is a surviving late-Baroque manor house built in the mid-18th Century, surrounded with a park complex and a moat. The construction was made of brick and topped with a half-hip roof. The main part of the manor was built on a rectangle plan, with a central avant corpse from the north. The manor was redeveloped at the dawn of the 20th Century, with the northern wing added from the east, and supplemented with the eastern wing. The only preserved historic furnishings are the fireplace and painted coat of arms of the Puttkamer family.