It is one of the most recognisable and interesting monuments of Gdynia. You can find it next to the Gdynia harbour master's office. Built in 1993, the Maritime Station was designed to handle overseas passenger traffic. It was here that such vessels as "Batory" and "Stefan Batory" were moored.
Unfortunately, the structure had been severely damaged in 1943 when the Allies bombed the port. Although rebuilt, it fell short of recovering its original splendour. However, it has been in operation into modern times, and houses the headquarters of many companies related to the maritime industry. Some of the largest passenger ships in the world, calling at the port in Gdynia, are moored in the vicinity of the Maritime Station.
It also welcomes those who arrive in Gdynia on Scandinavian ferries. The wharf by the building incorporates a plaque commemorating the fact that it was the place from which Witold Gombrowicz emigrated in 1938. The Maritime Station has made frequent appearances in various Polish movies. It is a house of the Emigration Museum.
The square in front of the Station features a monument, unveiled in 1965, honouring Seamen. Four postglacial rocks, extracted during the deepening works in the harbour, symbolise “the maritime professions” of docker, sailor, fisherman, and shipyard worker.