This former Sailors’ House used to play host to the Skippers’ Guild, established in 1386. In 1605 it was decided that the facade needed redevelopment and the cost of the investment approached the annual budget of Kraków at that time! The facade was then given the Dutch Mannerism character, and the top of the structure was crowned with the figure of St. James, Patron Saint of sailors. Over the building entrance there is an outstanding bas relief depicting a locomotive. During the renovation that took place at the end of the 19th Century the house was in the hands of the Industrialists’ Union and it was at their request that the tenement was given the bas relief.