There were various theories about them: the cannon gunrests were built near the port during the war, to fend off the Red Army, or to shoot off the American bombers. But these gunrests were made before the outbreak of war.
Germans before 1939 were afraid of Polish landing in Ustka so much so that in the spring of 1939, after the construction of one four-partitioned battery 105 mm they looked around where they could locate a second one even more powerful. These installations constituted most northernbound part of the fortification line that passed into history as the Pomeranian Shaft.
The first battery consisting of four 105 mm guns was built by the German Luftwaffe around 1938 on a sand dune several meters to the west of the port. Gunrests connected with basements with rooms for about 50 soldiers are well preserved to this day. The battery was named after Field Marshal Blücher, associated with Slupsk the patron of the local cavalry regiment.