Czluchow – on the outskirts of the voivodeship

A city located at the edge of the Pomorskie Voivodeship, approx. 15 km west of Chojnice, along a gutter filled with four connected lakes: Miejskie, Maly, Duzy (Lazienkowskie), Urzedowe (Szpitalne) and Rychnowskie.

From the pages of history

  • In 1290, the area around Czluchow was granted by the Pomorskie prince Mściwoj II to the voivode of Kalisz, Nicholas of Poniec.
  • In 1312, the Teutonic Knights purchased Czluchow for a small amount from Mikołaj’s sons. Mentioned in 1312 as Slochow – the name comes from the original owner or founder of the town, called Hearing. The natural defensive values of Czluchow influenced the decision on the location the largest defensive castle in this part of the monastic state.
  • A settlement was established in the outskirts of the town, which was granted city rights in 1348 by the Grand Master of the Teutonic Order, Henryk Dusemer.
  • From 1466, Czluchow became a royal town and the seat of the mayor.

Teutonic castle

The Czluchow castle was the second largest castle of the Order after Malbork, the seat of the commander and the Teutonic convent, and occupied 3 hectares. Its construction began after 1312 and was completed around 1365. The castle complex consisted of three outer baileys and the High Castle, and each of these complexes could constitute an independent defensive circuit.

To get from one part of the castle to another was possible through drawbridges built over moats filled with water. Only the moat around the Third Ward was dry. The most important part of the stronghold was the four-wing High Castle, built on a square plan with sides of 47.5 m. The whole was dominated by built in the north-west, massive octagonal tower in the corner of the High Castle.

  • there was a chapel in the northern wing of the castle,
  • in the eastern one – chapter house,
  • in the southern one – dormitory,
  • and the western one – the refectory.

The basements and upper floors housed warehouses, armouries, the commander’s mill, and in Polish times – a brewery. Inside the buildings there was a rectangular courtyard surrounded by cloisters.

  • After the city fire in 1793, the inhabitants received permission from King Frederick William II to dismantle the castle, and used the obtained bricks to rebuild the burned houses. The greatness of the castle is evidenced by the huge tower of the High Castle (46 m).
  • In the years 1826-1828, an Evangelical church was built on the foundations of the castle chapel, and the tower was turned into a bell tower.
  • In 1844, the top of the tower was changed to a high battlement.
Człuchów zamek, fot. Pomorskie.Travel

Człuchów zamek, fot. Pomorskie.Travel

Regional museum

The beginnings of museums in Czluchow date back to 1911. At that time, a regional chamber was established, which in 1927 was transformed into the Regional Museum. The monuments previously collected by individual collectors became the basis for opening a museum room in 1964 in one of the rooms of the castle.

The Regional Museum, based in the city manor (former mayer’s office), was established on January 2, 1976, and on May 2, 2013, it began operating in the restored castle in Czluchow, accessible to disabled people.

Artefacts are collected in the field of archaeology, ethnography, history and art combined with the history and culture of the region. There are also permanent exhibitions related to the region and temporary exhibitions with the collections of other museums, institutions and private individuals.

Church of St. Saint James the Apostle

According to tradition, the parish was established in 1209. During the Reformation, the temple was used by Protestants. In the XVIIth century, Jakub Wejher, the mayor of Czluchow, was the founder of a new brick church.

The church was built in the years 1644-1647 in the Baroque style (today’s transept and old chancel).

In 1713, a tower was added. In the years 1926-1928, the main nave and two side naves, a new chancel, organ porch and cloisters were expanded. The temple’s rich Baroque furnishings are worth noting – the former main altar. and side altars, ambo, baptismal font and confessional.

Church of St. Saint James the Apostle

Church of St. Saint James the Apostle

Luiza's forest

Forest city park with an area of 45 ha is located next to the castle. The beginnings of the park’s establishment date back to 1800. In 1807, the Prussian Queen Louise stayed in Czluchow, she liked the beauty of the Kujawy. In 1811, the inhabitants called this place Louise’s Hill. From the 1820s and into the 20th century, the park area was cared for by various associations, the city, the State Forests and the Czluchow commune.

Since 2006, Luiza’s Forest has had the status of a park. In 2008, it was entered into the register of monuments. It is an English park equipped with small architecture. There are multi-stemmed beeches and ancient oaks growing there. There are two forms of nature protection in the Czluchow lake area:

  • the protected landscape area “Czluchowskie Lake Complex” was established in 1981
  • ecological use from 2000 “Wetlands around Lazienkowskie Lake”.
Luiza's forest, photo: Pomorskie.Travel

Luiza's forest, photo: Pomorskie.Travel



Unfortunately, you don't have any favorite items yet.

Add the item to your favorites by clicking on the heart icon.

Unfortunately, you don't have any favorite items yet