The Castle of today is only partial, consisting of some of the defence walls and the 46-metre tower. The Człuchów stronghold was built during the 14th Century by the Teutonic Order. The exact date of completion is unknown; it is assumed to be the year 1365.
During periods in its history, the Castle was considered an unconquerable fortress, and was an important element in the defence system of the monastic State. The glory days of the fortress date were up to the year 1772, when the Castle was taken over by the Prussians, while the city fire of 1793 completed the devastation of the building. In order to rebuild the town, the residents were granted consent to deconstruct the Castle, leaving only the tower and fragments of the defence walls. A neo-gothic Evangelical church was added onto the foundations of the former Castle chapel during the years 1826-1828. This church is associated with one of the mysteries; the lost Amber Chamber, supposedly hidden by the Nazis.
In 2008, the Człuchów City Hall prepared the project entitled “The Teutonic Treasure in Our Hands – revalorisation and adaptation of the Teutonic Castle in Człuchów for cultural and touristic purposes”.