Powisle. The kingdom of plumps and the Teutonic castles.

Situated on the east coast Powisle is at the bored of two vaivodeships:  Pomeranian and Warmian-Mazurian.  Luckily for the Pomeranian, in its borders there are many lakes, rivers and forests full of beautiful walking paths.  Those who love history and architecture will come to Powisle to visit the castles, fortresses and crypts, which there are quite a lot of them.

Powisle is situated in the area of Lower Vistula , which is the land of beautiful landscapes and quite complicated history. This land changed its nationality many times and finally became part of Pomerania and Poland.

Flavours of Powisle

Powisle is rich with lakes and rivers. There are also forests here, which are an excellent palace for strolling and active way of spending time. There are also quite a lot of farming areas, which especially in the Spring time create charming panoramas and orchards with apples, pears and plumps. Those are the plumps that locals farmers are so proud of. The plump of Powisle is a rarity and the good of the region. The most famous plump is from the Neborowo Wielkie. It is used for  a classical plump jam and the tincture, which is the hallmark of the region.

  Fot: http://arabiasaudyjska-ksa.blogspot.com

Powisle is appreciated not only for its geographical location and features. This is the land where there are two artefacts from the Teutonic times.

Powiśle - what's worth seeing?

First, let’s go to Kwidzyn, called the capital of the Lower Powisle. Over the city, situated at the Liwa river, there is a castle of the wormer chapter house of the Pomesanians. The castle was modelled on the other Teutonic castles from the region. The castle was built in XIII/XIV c. and during its golden age it was the centre of the religious and political – administrative life. The most characteristical feature of the castell in, so called  “Gdanisko”, the tower emerging form the castle walls. It was connected with the rest of the castle with the corridor supported on brick arcades. It looks really spectacular and visiting Kwidzyn You have to drive down Gdanska Street, beneath the arcades. Visiting the city, it is worth looking at the former. Medieval, brick city walls from XIV c. , four-storey granary, brick granary from XVIII and the crypt of the three Grand Masters of the Teutonic Order in the St. John Evangelist Cathedral.

Castle in Kwidzyn, fot: pomorskie.travel

Sztum, situated at the two lakes: Sztumskie and Barlewickie is another stop while visiting the region. Sztum is famous not only due to its beautiful location at the two lakes but because of its history so much joined with the Teutonic Order. This was the place where in XIV c. Teutons built the defensive fortress, which became the sit of the mayor. The fortress was built from the field stones and the bricks, due to that it lasted till today. Now, it is a part of the Castle Museum in Malbork. There is also a Sztum Land Gild, so the knight tradition is still alive in the city.

Driving around Sztum, it is worth to see Waplewo Wielkie, to see the Sierakowski Palace. This place, during the difficult times of XIX c. was the centre where Polish tradition, culture and language was cultivated. There were many Polish aristocrats, artists, poets and writers coming here.

The Sierakowski Palace in Waplewo Wielkie, fot: M. Michalska

In Prabuty, on the other hand, almost at the border of the Pomeranian and the Warmian-Mazurian vaivodeships, it is worth visiting the underground waterworks route. The corridors under the Old Town were built around XVIII due to many dangerous fires.

Powisle, during the day full of charm, in the evenings, mysterious. Who knows, maybe in the former Teutonic castle, there are still some ghosts of the Grand Masters?

The Palace of the Sierakowski Family in Waplewo Wielkie

The Palace of the Sierakowski Family in Waplewo Wielkie

The Sierakowski Palace, with fragments of manor farm buildings, a park, and the nearby family tomb chapel, constitutes a historical token of a significant, although small, hub of national identity. This hospitable house received great Polish authors, politicians and artists. One of them was Stefan Żeromski, who wrote: “for a while cherish the beauty of this park and take a glance at the works of art - priceless indeed - that have found a home in the old palace."
Waplewo lies within the former Rassinen field which took the name of Wapils in 1376. Its owner, according to 15th-Century registers, was Segenand von Wapils, a knight of the Teutonic Order known for his diplomatic and political work. Around 1483 the land went to the hands of the Rabe family, with the Blackbird coats of arms. Presumably at that time the first manor was established in Waplewo, and historical sources confirm there was a garden here. In 1611, the Waplewo real estate passed into the ownership of the Niemojewski family, Rolicz coats of arms, and then, in 1641, to Count Jan Biberstein-Zawadzki, Rogala coats of arms, a distaff relative of the house of Vasa.
Zawadzki served under King Sigismond III Vasa and later held the office of Chamberlain at the court of Władysław IV. He had the honour to receive, on behalf of Władysław, an oath of allegiance to the Polish King from the Gdańsk Municipality. Zawadzki also erected a brick manor in Waplewo, the contours of which have survived to this day. In compliance with 17th-Century trends, the manor was designed as a low, one-storey structure with side doors imitating olliers. After Zawadzkis, Waplewo fell to the family of Chełstowski, and then, in 1726, to Bagniewski, the Buffalo coat of arms. With the second marriage of the Bagniewski widow, the Waplewo property changed ownership to the house of Sierakowski, with the Ogończyk coats of arms.
In 1888, the Sierakowski family expanded the manor, granting it palace characteristics. A bit earlier, in the last quarter of the 18th Century, Waplewo gained a beautiful landscape park which at that time included a classic row of lindens along the manor's extended axis. The property remained with its owners until World War II, to be taken over by the State Breeding Centre. In the 1970's the facility underwent major renovation. In November 2006, the palace and park complex in Waplewo went under the administration of the National Museum in Gdańsk, and became a base of its division - the Museum of the Tradition of Polish Nobility.
The Pomeranian Centre for Contacts with the Polish Community Abroad.
The manor was constructed on a rectangle, the longer side of which, from the east, received two wings in the form of olliers, giving the entire structure the shape of letter C. Seen from the front, it gives the impression of a modest, one-storey building with a break in the middle and two lower, side, wings. The rear section, having been reconstructed in the neoclassical style, acquired antique qualities - it is a storied structure, with the additional floor crowned with a triangle jerkin head and acroteria, supported by slender columns which cover the balcony. Once the manor joined the impressive winter garden from the park side - the Sierakowski family was famous for its collector's passion, also in the field of botany. In the following years, this orangery became a residential annexe.