The history of Drewnica reaches mediaeval times, when it was granted town status in 1359 by the Teutonic Knights under the Chełm law as a Church village. The village survived numerous wars, such as its destruction during the wars with Sweden in the 17th Century. Despite that fact, several dozen wooden houses and farm buildings from the 19th Century have survived to this day. Many of them are true masterpieces of local architecture. The attention is drawn to the beautiful architectural details in the form of the so-called “laubzekins” (a type of wooden laces). The wooden post windmill (Polish: “koźlak”) was built in 1718. It stands on a special construction called the post, which spins it according to the direction of the wind. It of course has not performed its function for a long time; however, it is currently being renovated by its owner and has become a great tourist attraction. It is the only post windmill in Żuławy. In the past there was also a tower mill in the village, built in the middle of the 19th Century, but it burned down in 1989.
Foto. M.Bielinski, Dep. Turystyki, UMWP