Their construction dates back to 1935-1938. Designed by Jerzy Müller and Stefan Reychman, they typify rare instances of Constructivism in Polish architecture. The complex is made up of three parts. The first and the largest is for fruit and vegetables. It adjoins a meat section which forms the shape of letter L. The last, standalone, area serves fish suppliers.
The roofing is parabolic and rests against a series of two-hinged steel arches with ceramic fill in the Förster system. The meat hall is covered with a nearly-flat, gable roof based on double-joint trusses. The fish hall exhibits a steel structure resting on reinforced-concrete bearings. The exhibition hall complex in Gdynia has been registered as a historical monument.