The name comes from two sculptures of lions, which are located on the main portal of the tenement. In 1411, the property was owned by councillor Bartłomiej Gross, who was murdered by the Teutonic Knights in the Gdańsk Castle. The interior contained one of the most magnificent halls in Gdańsk, immortalised in the 19th Century engraving of J. C. Schulz.
In the 17th Century, the “Lions’ Castle” was owned by the powerful Schwartzwald family, known for organising meetings with scholars and artists. This was the place of the formal feast thrown in the honour of King Władysław IV in 1636.