The two additional chapels adjoining the church were also built during this time. In 1596, the chapel next to the presbytery was divided into two storeys, planned for the needs of the school. The church archive was located in one of the rooms in the tower. 1668 saw the deconstruction of the church tower cupola, known from the 1618 Lubinus map, as it was about to collapse. It was replaced with a new one, in Baroque form. The tower copula was destroyed on 8 December 1703 during a storm.
At this time, the church tower contained five bells. A gallery was stretched around right under the pitched roof and a two-storey narrow tower rose just above. In 1803, the chapel next to the north aisle was deconstructed, much like the chapels adjoining the tower in 1854.
The church acquired a neo-gothic architectonic form, which included the peaks above the aisles and the new door and window openings in the tower. Inside the building, all the lofts were removed and the organ choir was moved under the tower. The official consecration took place in November 1860. The church remained in this state until the spring of 1945. While the Red Army forces were in Słupsk, the tower copula spire and the church roof burned down, along with the entire Słupsk old town. The vault and the interior were seriously damaged. The new parishioners began to restore the building. Two years later, in 1947, a new roof was installed, the warfare damages were repaired and the original functions of the temple were returned. In 1995, the entire roof was covered with new tiles. in 2003 and 2004, the church tower and the Baroque copula were rebuilt.
It is characterised by its massive shape and its important parts – the knave, presbytery and tower are clearly defined. The walls of the temple are made of bricks in the characteristic gothic layout; Wendish and Polish. The south wall of the body is adjoined by the vestry and octagonal tower with stairs inside. The body has a pitched roof, while the tower has a hip roof.
The initial furnishings of the church were stolen and destroyed during the religious riots of 1625. The next irreparable losses came in the year 1945. It is only from photographs that we know of the Baroque main altar, with its richly-sculpted prospect and row of two-sided paintings. It was created by the Słupsk woodcarver Paweł Waltersdorf (from the amber working guild) in 1630. His late Renaissance pulpit from 1609, with scenes from the life of Christ and the evangelists and saints on the body and the balustrade, is preserved to this day. The ornaments are covered with polychrome and gold plating. The true decoration of this pulpit – the multi-storey amber crown from the 17th Century – was disassembled and lost during the war. Nowadays, we can also admire two epitaphs one with the image of the Crucified and kneeling people in a richly decorated frame from halfway through the 17th Century, and the other Szymon Schreoder’s epitaph from 1671 presenting Christ’s fall under the Cross.
The only monument, however magnificent, from the original, gothic furnishings of the church is the sculpture group entitled “The Crucifixion”. It presents Christ on the cross and the Mother of Christ in Pain and St. John below. There are angels with attributes of the Lord’s Suffering above the characters and under the feet of Christ. The ends of the arms of the cross and the staffs are decorated with bas reliefs with symbols of the evangelists. This work of art was probably created by the master Paweł of Gdańsk. Initially, the sculpture was on the rainbow beam, high under the vault, between the main aisle and the presbytery. This was the probably the reason it was able to survive during the the Reformation period, which was accompanied by the violent excesses of the Słupsk population. About halfway through the 19th Century, the group was installed in the north east aisle of the church.