As some architectural relics are very conveniently located, their historic interiors have become home to public-utility institutions.

The Old Town Hall in Gdańsk

This is a pearl of Netherlandic Mannerism, created by the great Gdańsk builder, Anthonis van Obberghen.

It was built during the years 1587-1594 as the new headquarters of the Old Town authorities. Johannes Hevelius worked here during the years 1541 - 1587, first as a juror, than as a councillor. The Hall was able to survive World War II, the only building on Korzenna Street to do so. Unfortunately, the nearby tenements, which were owned by Hevelius and hosted the observatory and workshop of the famous astronomer, were not as lucky. The form is characterised by lightness and an accented slender tower, which refers to that of the Elsinore Castle in Denmark. The preserved interior decorations come from various Gdańsk tenements. The beautiful portal in the lower hall was moved from the tenement at 28 Długa Street. It is from 1517 and is the oldest Renaissance portal in Gdańsk. The top hall is the most beautiful, as its walls being covered with original tiles from Delphi. The ceiling hosts a plafond with 17th Century paintings from the workshop of Herman Han, also relocated from another house. The finely-decorated stone arcade from 1560, which decorates the south wall of the hall, is from the tenement at 45 Długa Street. The hall leads directly into the Burgher Room, which used to host court sessions. Today, it hosts concerts, conferences and other cultural meetings. The walls of the room are decorated by the valuable cycle of 12 Sybillas by Adolf Boy, dating back to the second half of the 17th Century. The Mayor's Office also has valuable decorations, mainly the plafond, also from the second half of the 17th Century. The low relief in the right corner of the front facade is also noteworthy. It is said that it shows the hall's architect - Anthonis van Obberghen.