The construction of the lighthouse began in June 1894 under the supervision of Edward Stach, a master builder from Elbląg.
However, in 1945 it was blown up by retreating German soldiers. A new lighthouse was built only in the early 1950s according to a design made at the Gdańsk University of Technology.
The new lighthouse was launched in the summer of 1951. It was built of concrete blocks in the shape of a truncated cone with internal stairs climbing along the walls. The light source is an optical system consisting of a two-position changer with 1000W bulbs and a cylindrical Fresnel lens.
The lighting angle covers the entire circle and the lantern is visible both from the open sea and from the Vistula Lagoon. From the gallery there is a view of the waters of the high seas and the Vistula Lagoon, from the land side you can see Tolkmicko and Frombork, and with good visibility even the lights of Hel and Gdańsk.
Tower height – 26.5 m (red round tower with gallery), light height above water – 53 m, light range – 18 Mm, characteristics – (white) light 2 s, break 2 s, light 2 s, break 6 s, period 12 s.