The buildings originating from the year 1929 served to collect objects from the closed steam engine depot in Elbląg. With time, the number of the exhibits grew, as more steam engines and locomotives were added.
The museum currently has 81 locomotives, cars, track devices and an arterial hall for four steam engines (the last of the existing PU29-03 from 1931, the only preserved Twl-90 from 1919). The halls of the museum host no-longer-used tools, machinery, elements of old mechanisms, complemented with collections of documents, keepsakes and models.
The museum contains not only steam engines, but also diesel and electrical machines. Its exhibits include a car used in the Tricity Rapid Rail until the nineteen seventies, which had been operating in Berlin prior to the war. A great attraction of the heritage park is the possibility to go onto the locomotives and all other exhibits in the steam engine depot.