As the owners of Salino, they were the main patrons of the church, but the landowners from the area also felt the financial responsibility, transferring large sums of money for current needs.The present-day church in Salino dates back to 1838. It was built of field stone, exactly in the place of the old, half-timbered church. The priest at that time was Samuel Thomasius. It was he who dug in the cornerstone for the new foundation on 17 June 1838. The project was carried out in 1839. Three bells from the old church were used. The formal consecration of the new church in Salino took place on 16 February 1840.
In the church book, Father Hoffmann described the detailed process of the consecration of the new church.
Also in the church book, information was included that King Frederic Wilhelm III donated two beautiful iron candlesticks for the main altar and one iron cross. One of the von Rexin heirs also gave a decorative Bible. From among the utensils of the old church, a special place was reserved for the golden communion chalice made by Franz Grützmacher from Gdańsk in 1700.
The area of the cemetery was surrounded by an embankment and a ditch and planted with hawthorn hedge. In 1873, the descendants of Pastor Thomasius gave the church a huge brass chandelier. In 1910, a new organ was bought and built into the old frame. In 1913, on the initiative and under the supervision of Pastor Schwerin, a wall around the church square was erected.
After the war, the church was included into the parish in Kostkowo.
Autor: P.Syrocki, Starostwo Powiatowe w Wejherowie
Foto: M.Bieliński, Dep. Turystyki, UMWP