St. James’ Church of the Capuchin Fathers is a rector’s church in Gdańsk, owned by the St. Bridget Parish of the Archdiocese of Gdańsk, which, in its current form, was erected in the years 1436-1437, consecrated by the Icelandic Bishop Godswinus of Skalhold.
The first church of St. James was built in 1414, next to the hospital and shelter for the sailors. After the plundering and burning of the church by the Hussite units, a new structure was built in 1436-1437. It was used by the Catholics until the mid 16th Century, and was taken over by the Protestants after the Reformation. In 1815, an explosion in the nearby gunpowder tower destroyed the hospital and seriously damaged the church.
During the War, the interior of the chapel was completely destroyed, and so the Capuchins, who took over the church in 1946 as compensation for the loss of the monastery and church in Lvov, carried out the necessary redecoration works. The main altar, the altars of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Anthony, and also the pulpit, were installed. On 13th June 1948, there was an opening ceremony and the consecration of St. Anthony’s altar.
St. James’ Church is the only example of late-Gothic hospital religious buildings in Gdańsk, with a Renaissance beam ceiling, additionally decorated with a cupola moved from St. James’ Gate.
Foto: R.Baranowski, Dep. Turystyki, UMWP