Its name derives from the dense overgrown ivy that grew on it. In winter 1855 ivy froze completely due to severe frosts. From those times remained just a memory.
The construction of this tower is very interesting because it differs from the other towers forming the town’s medieval fortifications. At its base the Ivy Tower a four-sided tower. From the second storey its shape changes to the octagon. The tower is covered with a pointed roof covered with tiles. The roof is topped with a piece of a copper ball. Bricks called “zendrówki” create a pattern and provide elevation characteristic of Lebork fortifications, and their dark color stands out creating graphic themes.