While it was not long ago that they used to lead ships safely to Pomeranian harbours, today they have become tourist attractions providing breathtaking views of the sea and the land. Built in the 19th and 20th Centuries, they stand now as picturesque monuments to the history of sea navigation.

The Stilo lighthouse

One of the most beautiful lighthouses in Pomerania stands in solitude in the seaside forest. It is located on a sandy hill (55 m above sea level), 900 m from the sea, and is visible from 23.5 nautical miles.

In the current location of the lighthouse, there once was a wooden navigational sign with drastically-less reach than the current structure. Unfortunately, due to the short range of the light, ships often lost their sea lane in this area and ran aground in the offshore shallow waters. Therefore, it was decided to demolish the sign and build a genuine lighthouse.


The construction of the lighthouse was completed in 1906. It was built on concrete foundations, which supports the steel elements of the core of the lighthouse, which were transported by sea to the construction site. In the vertical cross-section the tower is a hexadecagon, it is widest at the base - 7.3 metres - and gets smaller with height, reaching 3.9 metres at the top. The main body of the lighthouse was painted in black, red and white stripes. The structure is 34 metres in height from the base to the light. Since 1975 the source of the light has been its own electricity generator, which provides continuity for the lighthouse light, even if there is a power outage.


During World War II the tower, along with the surrounding buildings, were not extensively damaged. After the cessation of war operations the lighthouse was re-opened in April 1946. The lighthouse keeper at that time was Wojciech Jagusiak, a soldier of the Border Protection Army. The next lighthouse keeper was Stefan Łozicki, whose son Romuald steers the sailors into the port to this day.


Foto: B. Trepiński, Starostwo Powiatowe w Wejherowie,

Archiwum Starostwa Powiatowego w Wejherowie