The construction of this great complex of schools, workshops and dorms for students and lecturers took place between 1926 and 1930 and was based on a design by Wacław Tomaszewski. In its first academic year – 1930/1931 – the University operated in an uncompleted building. After World War II the school was immediately put back into operation. In 1969 the National Sea School and the National School of Marine Fishing combined to create the Gdynia Maritime School. The year 2002 saw the name change to the Gdynia Maritime University. The imposing complex of its academic buildings is a truly fascinating example of modernism in Gdynia.