Many urban layouts in Pomeranian towns and cities have historical origins, so they witnessed the emergence of successive urban-planning and spatial developments.
Ever since the Teutonic Knights bought this terrain in 1305, they soon began to demarcate an area for the construction of a fortress village. The construction works were supervised by Teodot of Florence, to whom Starogard owes its spacious urban arrangement, with a regular network of streets branching out from the centrally-placed square market, which is 107 x 107 m in dimensions. In the centre of the market there is the current town hall, built at the beginning of the 19th Century on Gothic foundations, and it was reconstructed for the last time in 1893. The unity of the area in the heart of the town is supplemented by the 19th and 20th Century tenement houses.